Board of Directors



Eng. Albert Mugo


Eng. Albert Mugo was elected as a delegate of Stima Plaza KenGen in February 2014 and to the board of Stima Sacco on 11th April 2014. He served as board vice-chairman from April 2016 and national chairman from January 2017 to April 2018. He holds a BSc in electrical engineering and MBA in Strategic Management. He is a member of various professional bodies including Engineers’ Board of Kenya and Institution of Engineers of Kenya. Eng. Mugo has worked in the energy sector for over 35years at Kenya Pipeline Company, Kenya Power and KenGen. He was appointed KenGen Managing Director in January 2014 and retired in August 2017.


Dr Ken Tarus PhD (Finance)

National Chairman

Dr Tarus was elected Stima Sacco Chairman on 4th April, 2018. He has over 20 years’ corporate leadership and management experience, five of them in energy. Prior to his appointment as MD & CEO of Kenya Power, he was the General Manager in charge of finance. Previously, Dr Tarus worked at the Rural Electrification Authority and as Deputy Vice Chancellor for Finance, Planning and Administration at KCA University. He has held various leadership roles in banking. He holds PhD in Business Administration (finance), an MBA and a B.Com. He is a Certified Public Accountant and a member of the Kenya Institute of Management.


Osman Kiloh Khatolwa [ICUDE, ADE]


Honorary Secretary


Khatolwa joined Kenya Power in 1998 and was elected as a Director of Stima Sacco in 2015 and Honorary Secretary on 5th April, 2017. He is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree and MBA in operations management as well as KATC I & II and a diploma in Social Protection and Development. Mr. Khatolwa has served as a delegate at the Institute of Energy and worked under various departments at Kenya Power including HR and administration, finance and distribution. He is a member of the Operations Management Society of Kenya.




National Treasurer

Mudany, the Finance & ICT Director at KenGen, was elected to the board of Stima Sacco on 24th March 2016 and subsequently as national treasurer on 5th April 2016.He is a fellow of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (FCPA (K)), and holds Master’s in Business Administration (MBA) and International Business (MIBA). He is also a Council Member of United States International University (USIU) and a Board Member of African Institute for Development Policy (AFIDEP). 


 Beatrice M Meso


Beatrice is the General Manager, Corporate Affairs & Company Secretary of Kenya Power. She has served as Company Secretary since October 1, 2013. Beatrice was elected to the Board of Stima Sacco on 24th March 2016 and as the honorary secretary on 7th April 2016 to April 2017. She holds Master of Laws (LL.M), Bachelor of Laws (LL.B Hons) and an MBA.  She also holds a post-graduate diploma in Law from the Kenya School of Law and is an advocate of the High Court of Kenya, a Certified Public Secretary, an arbitrator, a Commissioner for Oaths, and a Notary Public. Beatrice was Legal Services Manager before she was appointed Company Secretary.




 Anne was elected to the Board of Stima Sacco in 2014. Previously she served as Supervisory Chair of the Sacco. She is a fellow of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK), a Certified Internal Auditor (CIA), Certified Risk & Management Assurance (CRMA) and Certified Forensic Investigating Professional (CFIP). She holds an MBA, MSc. and a postgraduate diploma in audit management.  She has over 30 years’ experience working at the Office of the President and Kenya Power. She retired from KPLC in April 2015. Anne served as a Salaries & Remuneration Commissioner from 2011 to 2017 and director with the Public Sector Accountants Standard Board of Kenya from 2014.




CPA Joyce Awinja Ochieng


Joyce was elected to the Board in 2012 and serves in the Procurement Oversight Committee and Finance, Investment & Credit Committee. She is Supply Chain Manager at Kenya Power. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in International Business Administration and an MBA in strategic management as well as a post-graduate diploma in purchasing and supplies. She is a member of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK), Chartered Institute of Purchasing & Supplies (CIPS, UK) and Kenya Institute of Supplies Management (KISM). She has over 20 years’ experience in finance and supply.






Sammy Ndung’u


Chairman, Supervisory Committee


Currently working with the Judiciary of Kenya as a Regional Director of Finance. Sammy works for KenGen in the finance and commercial department. Previously, he worked for Kenya Power. He is an accomplished professional in financial management and systems accounting with over 24 years of experience. Sammy holds (Hons) Accounting, MBA (finance), SAP (FI), CPA(K), and is member of ICPAK and Centre for Corporate Governance.



 Eng. Joseph W. Masibo


Secretary, Supervisory Committee

Eng. Masibo was elected as a delegate and later as a Supervisory Committee member in 2008.  He holds a degree in electrical engineering and MBA in Strategic Management. He has wide experience in power engineering and management, over 27 years working for Kenya Power, where he rose to chief manager before retiring in 2015.




Abubakar Swaleh Shariff

Member, Supervisory Committee


Swalehwas elected a member of the Supervisory Committee on 24th March 2016. He joined Kenya Power in September 2014. He holds an MBA, a Bachelor of Education degree and a Higher Diploma in human resource management. He has over 20 years’ experience. He has worked for BAT, Nation Media Group, MRM, SAFAL Group and Gulf African Bank.